English 9 Enriched: Overview

This is where I will share ideas from my Enriched English 9 students.   As part of my Annual Professional Performance Review (APPR), I adapted my lessons to fit The Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) framework.    This rather daunting outline contains the following (per quarter, mind you) that is expected in the English 9 classroom:

READING:

  •  One extended text (either fiction or non-fiction; 2 of each over the 4 “modules” or quarters)
  • 2-3 short pieces of world literature (short stories, poems, literary essays, etc)
  • 1-2 informational texts

WRITING:

  • 4-6 Analyses (heavy focus on persuasive pieces)
  • a research project (using parenthetical citations with works cited)
  • a narrative piece
  • routine writing (journal entries, online posting) done on a regular basis outside of the above assignments

INCORPORATED WITH READING AND WRITING:

  • analyzing content
  • citing evidence
  • studying and applying grammar
  • studying and applying higher level vocabulary
  • conducting discussions and debates
  • reporting findings

You can find the documents outlining the English Language Arts Frameworks here:

parcc_purple_tag

 

The extended works that I am teaching this year are as follows:

Every Bone Tells a Story by Jill Rubalcaba and Peter Robertshaw

The Odyssey attributed to Homer

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I know that I have three extended works of fiction and one nonfiction instead of two and two, but we have very few extended non-fiction pieces in our book room.  As it was, I assigned Every Bone Tells a Story for the summer reading, and each student purchased a copy.

Throughout the remainder of this school year, I will post classroom activities and assessments that I have used to meet the PARCC framework.

Leave a comment

Filed under English 9 Enriched

Leave a comment